Skip to content

YELLOW AMERICAN ROSE…the beginning

March 1, 2023

A new month and a new project. After getting my canvas all stretched and ready to go……I began my yellow rose. In order to facilitate easier stitching I have turned my canvas (and my chart) upside down.

The first of the 8 stitches is a reversing scotch stitch. I love this stitch. It’s easy and presents many looks depending on the thread used. All threads in this project are overdyes. The first thread I’m using is a Sampler Thread from Gentle Art called Daffodil. Reversing the scotch really changes the look from stitching all the same direction.

One of my followers asked that I list the thread substitutes. Please remember that these threads were purchased in 2015. I have no idea if they are still available or if dye lots would be the same

Crescent Colour Bing Cherry~ Gentle Art Sunflower

Crescent Colours Red Ribbon ~ Weeks Dye Works Sally’s Sunshine

Crescent Colours Cupid ~ Weeks Dye Works Squash

Crescent Colours Blackbird ~ Gentle Art Picnic Basket

Gentle Arts Cinders ~ Crescent Colours Sassy Brassy

Gentle Arts Buckeye Scarlet ~ Crescent Colours Golden Star

Weeks Dye Works Fire ~ Crescent Colours Daffodil

Weeks Dye Works ~ Louisana Hot Sauce ~ Weeks Dye Works Banana Popsicle

No comments yet

Leave a comment