Skip to content

PATTERNS GALORE!

November 15, 2022

I went looking for a counted design in my stash……I lost a whole afternoon wandering through my studio. Sometimes it just feels right to look through your options, plus it’s fun. After reading several charts I decided on PATTERNS GALORE!

This is a Margaret Bendig class from 1998. It was originally done by a close stitching friend who has passed away and I was lucky enough to acquire the chart.

This is a large project for me. Design size 12” X 12”, worked on an 18” square of 18ct mono canvas. The original class required pre-work and that is where I am.

Smyrna crosses in #8 pearl form the entire outline, 110 per side. The interior borders are being done in Wildflowers. This is to be worked from stash so I have very neutral colors for the outline and interior borders. My vision is neutrals with turquoise and copper.

Margaret Bendig Design

The interior borders are done in the Montenegrin stitch. This is a stitch I haven’t done before. My first look at the chart had me saying “what”. I began to think of other options. I wasn’t sure I wanted so much of something new……. But after really studying the stitch chart I decided to give it a try. I’m glad I did. It turns out to be a very easy stitch and Margaret’s charts for compensation and turning corners are awesome. I’m enjoying the interior borders. A few more days and then the challenge of threads and colors will begin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donna lawrence permalink
    November 16, 2022 9:19 am

    Our chapter ANG did this class years ago. I did not finish my red kit. I am using the class instructions to find stitches for my own small designs.
    I will follow your project with great interest!
    Have lots of fun!

Leave a comment