Skip to content

BACK TO THE TULIPS

October 13, 2022

I’m back on track with my Tulips and Windmill. The process of stitching the sweeps had me putting off stitching. I finally decided that if I just followed the instructions I could finish this project.

Well…..although it turns out not to be that difficult, it is challenging. After attaching the tracing paper with random running stitches the instructions said to use #16 Kreinik ribbon. I found bringing the ribbon to the front of the canvas a challenge. With the ribbon to the front of the canvas I used the #4 Kreinik braid to stitch it down using a running stitch down the middle. That was the easy part….getting the ribbon to the back of the canvas again 🥺🥺🥺. Now I have to bring the ribbon up and down for each of the short sweep bars. AND THEN do it all over again for the second sweep. Say a prayer that I don’t damage the canvas as I head to the end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marianne Luckett permalink
    October 13, 2022 4:22 pm

    Your work is absolutely beautiful but I’m sure you will be glad when it’s finished! I have a question about how you did the final border to Kathy Rees’ Sherwood Garden piece. If you would send me an email, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      October 14, 2022 7:22 am

      I’ll try and locate that info when I get back home from holding that wonderful bundle of joy.

  2. Victoria permalink
    October 14, 2022 3:52 am

    can you lay the ribbon on top, couch it down and the take the ribbon from the top to the back. That way you never have to come up from the back.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      October 14, 2022 7:21 am

      That is something I had not considered. Thanks….I think that might work.

  3. Donna lawrence permalink
    October 14, 2022 1:08 pm

    I greatly admire your ‘stick to it offers!’

Leave a comment