Skip to content

A Quick Project

October 6, 2022
Watson Charles Runyan

You smiled…..didn’t you. On September 28th I became a great grandmother for the first time to this wonderful angel 😇. 7lbs 6oz and 20” of pure love. I had just finished Tlaquepaque #1 the day before and was ready to stitch a little gift for my granddaughter and her husband.

I purchased a Kathy Rees kit at seminar with the intention of modifying it for this gift.

I used all the original thread combination and stitches just in a different combination. I really didn’t like the border so I replaced it with something more simple. The navy blue in the name and date and the border is the only thread I added. This is all done in #5 pearl, no laying 😀 I had the little heart buttons in my stash and wanted a heart in the design.

The name and date was first and I left the background until last because I wasn’t sure just what color would do best. I did change the orientation of some stitches and tried to keep the color balance as in the original. Non-stop stitching for 6 days and it is now at my framer who promised to have it for me when I go to North Carolina the end of the month to hold Watson. I can hardly wait.

Not bad for a quick project. It is a real sense of accomplishment and I know my granddaughter, Kaleigh, will love it. If you remember I redesigned Sherwood Forrest, another Kathy Rees design, as a wedding gift for her and Brandon this time last year.

Now my Tulips and Windmill is back to the top of the list. The technique for the windmill is something new and I’m a little nervous..I don’t want to screw up. More soon……I know you’re going to look at Watson one more time. 🥰 it’s ok ✅

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cara Hayes permalink
    October 7, 2022 4:10 am

    This warms my heart!

    • stitchlady permalink*
      October 7, 2022 6:08 pm

      Thanks for following

  2. Pat Hood permalink
    October 7, 2022 8:21 am

    So happy for you and your great-grandchild.

  3. Herb and Dee permalink
    October 19, 2022 1:05 pm

    To Great Grandma Jan! Congratulations on this Blessing!

    Donna Lawrence

    Sent from Mail for Windows

Leave a comment