Skip to content

Seminar 2014 Chicago

August 28, 2014

The best laid plans often go astray. Yes I am in Chicago at the ANG seminar, yes I have my camera, the one thing I am lacking is the time !!! Why did I think I would have time to snap pictures and do blog posting during seminar. I guess I think I am super woman.

I arrived on Wednesday and managed to take a walk down to the Chicago River and watch the tour boats drift by. The weather was warm and very humid. I guess that is usual for Chicago in the summer.

Thursday began my work….. Unpacking the teaching pieces for the Myrtle Beach Seminar next year and getting them arranged in the exhibit area. Not all pieces were there in the morning but most showed up be the end of the day. It was a very nervous time for me as I arranged the projects and wondered how they would be received by the seminar attendees. I am the Faculty Chair for Myrtle Beach so it is pretty much my “baby”. It will be my last year on the committee so in 2016 I will be able to take classes again.

Being on this committee for three years, so far, has given me a huge appreciation for what goes on in the background to make seminar a success. Our goal is to do whatever it takes to ensure that the students and faculty have a wonderful time. We also track students who do not show up for classes at the appointed times.  Care for our students is top priority. We check on the ones who become ill, find out where the ones are who just decided to “go shopping” for part of class time.  We do not want anyone to me missing and not get checked on. We appreciate those who let us know ahead of time that they will be out of class for whatever reason.

Tuesday is my long day as when the day is done we must pull all the teaching pieces from the exhibit for those teachers who are participating in Teachers Showcase. This is an hour Tuesday evening when the teachers can show the projects that they are currently teaching to all interested parties in hopes of getting chapters interested in having them do workshops.

Tuesday night is also the Live and Silent Auctions……..there is always something going on.

By last  night I was almost brain dead 🙂 but it was Merchandise Night. Lots of vendors with goodies for sale. As usual it was crowded. You would think that everyone was nearly out of stitching stuff…..:)

Time to get back on the job. Hope everyone is getting some seminar info on Facebook or the ANG list. More soon.

Happy Stitching!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    August 29, 2014 8:32 am

    Thanks Jan. I bet you are looking forward to 2016! I know you have done a lot this year and will do a great job next year. We all appreciate your efforts and everyone who volunteers.

  2. August 29, 2014 6:51 pm

    This was my first seminar and you have done a wonderful job. Thanks for all your hard work

  3. August 31, 2014 8:08 pm

    The 2015 classes look great-tough decisions ahead. Thanks for all you’ve done! Melita

Leave a comment