Skip to content

Seminar in San Antonio

September 5, 2011

This years seminar in San Antonio was HOT…as in 100+ degree days.  We had one day when it only got to 99.  The Marriott River Center was a great venue.  All the classes, banquets, shop, bookstore and exhibit were all on the same floor.  No chance to get lost :).

I arrived on Friday the 26th having left my DH in the motorhome in Rapid City, SD.  Saturday was a day off.  I volunteered for a two hour shift in the bookstore and got ready for my first class on Sunday.  The air conditioning in the hotel was working overtime and it sure felt good.  Light sweaters were welcome but I would rather be a little cool than too hot.

Sunday I began my three day class with Nancy Cucci.  The project is entitled Spring Delights. Nanci is a delightful teacher and her instructions are very clear.

After 3 days of class

This projects consists of 20 squares all done on congress cloth in wonderful spring colors.  Each square has a border.  After tying off all my “spaghetti” from class I decided that I would work on all the borders in the evenings.  It is easy stitching without much chart reading and I could make progress before I got home.

To the right is my photo (not real good) of Nancy’s project..  Spring Delights is going to be a lot of fun along with learning a few new things.

On Sunday the exhibit opened and I went to see where my Far Horizons was hung. Not seeing it on the walls I got concerned until I saw it laying on a table with a big red 2nd place ribbon.  I could hardly believe it.  I almost jumped up and down like a schoolgirl.  It was entered in the Class Projects by a Professional catagory. I haven’t taken a picture of the ribbon yet but you will see it soon.

There is more to tell…tune in tomorrow

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    September 5, 2011 10:33 am

    Isn’t it fun to feel like a schoolgirl. Congrats!

  2. Diane Ackley permalink
    September 5, 2011 2:17 pm

    I just want to thank you for your wonderful blog. I am a fairly new subscriber and look forward to reading it each time it comes through. Congratulations on your ribbon. I think all of your work it so beautiful. Having taken Margaret Bendig’s Plum Blossom Kimono a while ago, you have inspired me to finish it up ( I only have a little left to do). Thanks also for the description of the seminar. It helps us who were unable to go to participate a little.
    Diane Ackley

  3. Pat permalink
    September 5, 2011 6:33 pm

    Bravo! Applause! cheering!

  4. Nina permalink
    September 6, 2011 6:54 am

    WOW! Congratulations on the ribbon. it was a beautiful piece of artwork.

  5. Winogene permalink
    September 6, 2011 7:38 am

    Congrats on the second place ribbon !!!!!!!

  6. September 6, 2011 7:56 am

    Congratulations! And thanks for reporting on Seminar!

Leave a comment