Skip to content

MORE PATTERNS GALORE !

January 31, 2023
PATTERNS GALORE ! A Margaret Bendig Design

I found that as I got closer to the last dozen blocks it was a little more challenging to choose colors. It took time to look at the whole and try to figure color and value. Overall I like what I’ve chosen.

The Rhodes variation in the last block (37) may be a little too light but I love it. Some of the stitches I’ve learned to like are, Bound Rice Stitch (35), English Stitch (36), the Woven Square (31) and the Bound Cross Stitch (Border)

I do have a confession to make. I did all the original stitches except for Block 34. It called for something named The Easter stitch. The chart looked clear but I could not get the stitch to look like anything but a blob. I changed it to a Reverse Mosaic after hours of trying to get the stitch to work.

Now I’m working on the center…all 6 steps and the border, 2 steps. I do like the Watercolors that I’ve chosen for the border and the center Diamond outline. I’m finding it interesting to decide what values of neutrals to use for the center. I’m also wanting to add a bit of turquoise to tie things together.

Happy Stitching. The next post may be a finish!! Thanks for following me for over 10 years.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl permalink
    January 31, 2023 5:45 pm

    This looks fabulous. You made great choices on threads. Love it. Can’t wait to see the finished piece.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      February 1, 2023 2:42 pm

      Thanks for the comment. Hope to be finished soon.

  2. Betsy permalink
    February 1, 2023 7:05 am

    You are doing a magnificent job! Great color choices. The center will be as beautiful as the rest.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      February 1, 2023 2:43 pm

      I hope the center really adds to the finished project. Thanks for the comment

  3. BFromM permalink
    February 1, 2023 2:40 pm

    So cool! I love the pops of turquoise.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      February 1, 2023 2:43 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I hope to bring in the turquoise into the center b

  4. Mary Caughlin permalink
    February 2, 2023 5:56 am

    That is just lovely. The colors work together so well & your stitching is fabulous. I may just have to try to tackle one of these canvases. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. February 3, 2023 9:36 am

    Its so beautiful, you’re doing an amazing job!

  6. nelliespinoza permalink
    February 13, 2023 3:03 pm

    Hi. Love your color choices for this charted design! Could you tell me where it can be purchased? Thank you!

    • Marilyn Conway-Shepherd permalink
      February 17, 2023 8:40 pm

      I contacted Margaret Bendig and purchased the instructions ($35 plus postage $4.14) . Margaret doesn’t accept c/cards, but accepted my cheque. I think PayPal O.K. Prompt service. Now to start planning … and starting! Would love to know the threads and colours used; that aqua range gets me every time!

Leave a comment