Skip to content

Bookmarks 

May 8, 2017

I am currently working on another Bargello pilot…no photos yet. This one is a real challenge. I stitch awhile and then sit back and think. I am designing as I stitch so thinking is required.

While I am thinking I have been using scraps of canvas (never throw away canvas) to create bookmarks. They will be donated to literacy programs. I design these as I stitch but it is much easier. Usually begin with left over Watercolors, choose some floss from the watercolor scheme and begin stitching. Using stitches that cover front and back, like scotch, cashmere and slanted goblin make it easy to begin, end and hide threads that travel so the back is fairly neat. 

As you can see, there is no fancy finishing. I cut the sides and ravel the bottom. Sometimes I cut all four sides. These are not going to be preserved for 100 years 😄 they are going to be given ut and hopefully used.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    May 8, 2017 2:11 pm

    Lovely!

  2. Phyllis permalink
    May 8, 2017 5:37 pm

    Love them

  3. Donna Lawrence permalink
    May 8, 2017 6:52 pm

    Beautifu!!

  4. Donna Lawrence permalink
    May 8, 2017 6:52 pm

    Beautifu!!

  5. Kareen Strumpel permalink
    May 9, 2017 6:57 am

    I like what you are doing, but have some questions. Do you do anything to stabilize the edges of the canvas so it doesn’t ravel? Do you cover the stitching on the back of the bookmark in any way?

    • stitchlady permalink*
      May 9, 2017 6:40 pm

      I have never done anything to the borders. I do not cover the back. I tuck my threads under my stitches a little more carefully than I would worry about on a canvas. In my next post I will post photos of the backs. Thanks for your interest. They are really fun.

  6. Rebecca permalink
    May 10, 2017 12:54 pm

    I love the bright rainbow thread. May I ask what thread & color it is?
    Thanks

    • stitchlady permalink*
      May 10, 2017 5:27 pm

      The Rainbow colored thread is from ThreadWorx color #1154. I bought it some time ago and it seemed like a good choice for bookmarks. I used DMC #725, #8 pearl with it.
      Thanks for following my blog. It is nice to know stitcher’s are enjoying what I do. Happy Stitching 😀

Leave a comment