Skip to content

Tassels by Lee

May 16, 2017

While I am spending time thinking of the Bargello pilot I am working on……..

These Tassels have been around for a while. I have been stitching and thinking on this one also. I am still pretty new to selecting stitches for a painted canvas.  I just try to picture an effect I would like to see….and go for it. Now I am stuck, big time.  Black stitching on black canvas ??? It is not easy. Does anyone have an idea for a background stitch? Help, please. Maybe something open and easy to compensate. Asking for a miracle, I know. 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2017 10:46 am

    How about just “Woven” stitch. Easy to compensate won’t distract from your beautiful tassels. 🙂

  2. May 16, 2017 11:42 am

    Brick Stitch over Four is even easier to work on black and the compensation is a snap. This link is to a diagram for Brick Stitch over Two but the Over Four is the same, just longer. https://www.thespruce.com/the-brick-needlepoint-stitch-2479682

  3. Donna L permalink
    May 16, 2017 12:44 pm

    How about a vertical open stitch? Fine black Kreinick or Perle cotton, about 5 theads apart?

  4. stitchlady permalink*
    May 16, 2017 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions. It gives me a starting point..

Leave a Reply

