Skip to content

My Maggie Coffee Cup

January 7, 2016

I have spent several hours each of the last two days STITCHING. Yeah! I decided I wanted a yellow cup instead of white as shown on the canvas. I am using some Trebizone silk from my stash. No laying required. I have adopted a technique for using stash threads when I am not sure I have enough for the intended area. I am sure I am not the first one to do this. With the cup I started with an alternating stitch design at the top, after two rows of horizontal cashmere and two rows of continental I went to the bottom of the cup and did the same number of rows. By working a small number of rows on the top and then on the bottom I was taking precautions that if I ran out of thread I would have a center area to perhaps add a different color and stitch. By planning the use of my threads I can use stash and not panic and do reverse work if there is not enough thread for a specific area. I did have enough thread with 18 inches to spare. 😊

  

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MaryAnn Misenhimer permalink
    January 7, 2016 12:11 pm

    That yummy, buttery yellow really takes a plain canvas to another level!! And you are a GENIUS with your “top and bottom” method for stash use.

  2. Denise Charts permalink
    January 7, 2016 12:23 pm

    Thank you again for info about using stash threads. I learn sooooooo much from your blog. Now I may actually try using some of my stash!

  3. brendasneedlepointstudioblog permalink
    January 8, 2016 6:38 am

    Stitching a small section at a time is a great idea!!! I have often hesitated to use stash not knowing if there would be enough. Now I will dive right in. Thanks for a wonderful hint.

  4. January 8, 2016 9:43 am

    Cute canvas. Great idea!

  5. January 9, 2016 1:13 am

    It’s lovely! I love the bands on stitching in the yellow area

Leave a comment