Skip to content

Arizona Wild Flower

March 28, 2012

I have been working on the small painted canvas fron the class I took at The West (my LNS Tucson).  It is a really pretty design and the beading is really an experience.

The photo is the model that we saw in class.  Cassie Prescott of Sundance Designs was our instructor.  I loved the framing on this.  It was just perfect for the design.

This an unusual view.  I wanted you to see the height of the beads.  There are two beads stacked together and it really has a different effect for the beads.  The bottom bead is larger than the top.  To attach them I came up through both beads and them went down through the bottom bead.  Not being a beader I don’t think I would have thought to do this but I love the way it looks.

I am now working on getting the flower petals done before I go back to the beads.

I have completed the wine color on these petals and now am struggling with the yellow.  the stitch is not difficult but the yellow is almost all compensation and it is making my brain really work.  the petals are worked in floss with the small stitches done in Highlights.  I don’t really like Highlights as is it a thin metallic and I have to use two strands.  It does give a nice touch of metallic to the flowers. As usual the camera washes out the glint from the metallic.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy Furie permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:09 pm

    I want to stitch this piece! I called The West and asked if I could ghost the class. The lady with whom I spoke took my info amd said she’d get back to me, but I never heard back. Your piece is beautiful. Good luck clearing out the mental fog and forging aheand with the compensation on the yellow parts!

  2. March 29, 2012 8:57 am

    i am pretty much of a chicken when it comes to compensation so i look at that piece and think – continental stitch! the beading you are doing is quite unusual and your work stunning.

  3. March 29, 2012 9:17 am

    What a gorgeous piece! It is just spectacular!
    I don’t like Highlights either. I usually substitue a Kreinik if I can!
    Interesting beadwork. I don’t think I’ve ever seen them stacked that way.
    Persevere…the compensation will eventually be done!

  4. Winogene permalink
    March 29, 2012 10:46 am

    LOVE IT !!!!!! Can’t wait to see the finished piece !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment