Skip to content

TUSCAN MIDNIGHT…..the beginning

April 29, 2024

After taxing my brain with Africana I decided I wanted a fun and easy project. I have done several Kathy Rees designs and they are always very relaxing. Also all the threads are Watercolors which I like to stitch with.

When doing counted designs there is usually a full color chart to work from. This design is different. Kathy suggested…in bold print, that the grid be drawn on the canvas. All the area stitch patterns are referenced by two grid coordinates. I thought I might just skip the marking…..but after reading the instructions I realized how important the grid was and how easy it would be to get confused so I spent the better part of a whole day counting and recounting. I first marked with thread and when I was sure of my count I drew the grid with a #4 pencil. #4 lead is very hard and does not leave residue when stitching.

Tuscan Midnight, a Kathy Rees Design

I have a large stash of Watercolors so I kitted this from threads on hand. I did not have all the colors called for but I used the Watercolor chart online and chose the colors closest to the ones I was missing.

No comments yet

Leave a comment