Skip to content

Fun Designs

October 4, 2019

While working on DECEMBER DAZZLE I have taken breaks when I wanted to “just stitch”. Remember when I was doing bookmarks….just designing as I stitched? I decided I wanted several Christmas ornaments for my Christmas tree. Taking small squares I used the same process. Designed as I stitched. Here is what I have done so far. I find it so much fun to see something develop.

There are a few rules I follow. Always work with an even number of threads on the canvas. That makes it easier to choose stitches. Sometimes I start in the center and work out. Other times I do a border and fill in. Both design beginnings present challenges. To me it is just fun to stitch without a chart. I do use a few favorite stitches such as different size crosses, some tied. Scotch, cashmere, Smyrna and of course tent done continental style to fill in small areas. I keep a baggie full of Christmas threads. I use several types of thread depending on how I feel. Usually add some sparkle and sometimes embellishments like the holly leaves in the lower right ornament. You can see by the presence of the ruler that these are small. I do send them out for simple finishing as I really do not like doing the finishing. Since I do these from stash, the cost of the finishing is acceptable.

Give it a try….but be warned you might get hooked 😃😃

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2019 10:11 pm

    That sounds like fun – starting with no real plan in mind. And you’ll have some nice new ornaments to hang on your Christmas tree.

Leave a comment