Skip to content

Needlepoint Adventure

March 10, 2019

It was a great 3 day adventure. I left early (4am) Thursday morning. I am about two hours from the Tucson airport and I has a 7:55am flight to Denver. It was on time and I arrived in Denver at 9:30am. I met up with three other stitchers. All of us arriving within 20 minutes. One from Chicago, two from Sacramento. We picked up a large rental car and headed to The Stitching Shop. Shopping was first on the list. What a great shop but very hard on the wallet. Then on to Diversions, another needlepoint shop. With wallets a lot lighter we had a late lunch on the way to Colorado Springs.

A two day pilot class for Toni Gerdes and one for Jennifer Riefenberg we’re being held at The Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs. What a beautiful mountain retreat. This is the view I had from my room.

After dinner out with friends. We hit the sack, anxious for class the next day. Two of us were taking Jennifer’s class and two were taking Toni’s class.

I was in Toni’s class ABYSS. This is her companion to FIRE AND ICE, which I have already done. Here is her finished piece. This will be taught at the ANG Seminar in Houston this coming August.

I had two wonderful days of stitching. Here is where I got to:

Notice the Needle minder. It was in our goody bag. I have never had a magnet of the piece I was stitching. I think this is so cool. They were specially made.

After Saturday’s class we loaded up the car, headed back to Denver to catch a ” red eye” home. I arrived home at 1:30am………very tired but very excited about stitching again. Today is a day of unpacking, laundry and stitching.

For those who can’t remember what FIRE AND ICE looks like here is Toni’s finished piece. When ABYSS is finished I will have then framed as a pair.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. suesci permalink
    March 10, 2019 6:24 pm

    What fun your adventure must have been! I know that place as we had my dad’s 100th birthday party there with family from all over the US coming in. It is most beautiful.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      March 10, 2019 7:47 pm

      I hope to return next March. It was lovely.

  2. Susan permalink
    March 11, 2019 7:57 am

    Just beautiful. My favorite shops in Denver.

  3. Sheena permalink
    March 11, 2019 8:50 am

    What a beautiful companion piece. They will look lovely together😸

  4. Linda Sher permalink
    April 19, 2019 2:18 pm

    How does one get the opportunity to participate in a pilot class?

Leave a comment