Skip to content

Metalforms

February 20, 2018

Another project started……. A few of my ANG guild members have formed a group to stitch the 5 part Metalforms project from the ANG magazines. BUT we are thinking outside the box. Does that surprise anyone? The original design is done in a monochromatic colorway. At least two of us are choosing colors not monochromatic. Also there are mostly metallic threads in the original. I am using a lot of matallic but not as much as the original thread supply list called for.

The group met yesterday at The West, our local needlepoint shop and spent a couple hours playing with threads.

I searched the end cut canvas bin and found a bright pink….. yes pink canvas. My colorway is to be based on desert sunset colors. If you have ever seen an Arizona sunset you will know that the colors are unbelievable.

Here is where I am starting from:

I just had to start on the border. I am using Frye Works Soft Sheen with a Flair filling. It took me a while to get the rhythm of the pattern. As suggested I am working the middle of a row and not starting with a corner. The blue border represents the sky……and here I go. This is a large project. The canvas is 16″ X 18″ making the design area approximately 14″ X 16″. I do not have permission to publish a copy of the complete design so if you do not have the magazines you will just have to watch the design evolve.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna Lawrence permalink
    February 20, 2018 8:04 pm

    Your colorway looks wonderful so I know that your work will be stupendous! !

  2. Diane Schaffer permalink
    February 21, 2018 6:43 am

    I think I better come out from “gloomy” Ohio and check out your project as well as the Sunset! You are so lucky to live is such beautiful country! My daughter and I have this project on our “To Do” list for the future!

  3. Shirley Hobbs permalink
    February 21, 2018 5:53 pm

    Living in Arizona, I know what you mean by the sunset colors. I love your choices. Looking forward to seeing the piece develop.

  4. Liz permalink
    February 23, 2018 11:04 am

    It’s going to be fun to see this come alive in such a different color Way!

  5. needlnfool permalink
    February 23, 2018 3:57 pm

    Lovely colors. My ANG chapter started this last year. Reluctantly I decided I had too little time so I ‘sat this one out’.

Leave a comment