Skip to content

Needlework Painted Canvas

July 8, 2016


Another project started. It seems like having three projects going works the best for me. I used to be a one project only stitcher. Painted canvases have allowed me to work on several projects. When I was doing mostly counted designs it was not as easy to have several going.

This project is a challenge for me as I do not really like the colors. I am trying to brighten it up. Today was one of those days when my brain was working in overdrive. I have spent hours looking at this canvas and only seeing areas of tent stitch.

I have started several areas. Some changing the color. When I decide that I like it I leave it and go on to another area. I know that I can come back on a day when infant to just stitch and finish areas I have already started.
The quilt is done with a metallic thread for the border. I was trying to get the look of satin borders of quilts I had as a child. I am working this all from stash, so far, and I did not have ant ribbon that would work.
The twine that you see anchored as the handle on the basket will be used as padding so the handle has some texture. I am still trying to decide what color I want to use for the handle.

I finally saw that the width of the letter “K” could be done in some combination of stitches, not just tent.
Tomorrow I have to go to Tucson for a chapter board meeting and will go to my LNS and see what colors I may add. I am using mostly pearl and other “non-laying” threads. This is becoming a fun project……as long as the brain keeps giving me great ideas.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane Schaffer permalink
    July 9, 2016 7:28 am

    I really like this and thanks for sharing your ideas. It sounds like fun to do. Happy Stitching!

  2. Nancy Show permalink
    June 22, 2018 2:47 am

    Can you tell who the designer of this canvas is please? Thank you!

Leave a comment