Skip to content

ANG Summer Challenge Update

June 19, 2015

I keep looking at Baroque and just can’t get up for doing Jessicas. There are about 30 of them and they are small 🔜🔜🔜

I decided to play with my guilds summer challenge. If you remember I pulled a bag of threads blindly. There are 6 threads, color coordinated, a canvas of my choice (eggshell) with a line drawn design. Rules say all threads must be used but more can be added.  I am thinking my finished goal is a patchwork quilt square.  By changing the colors around I am anxious to see the different effects. The challenge will be the trimmings that will separate the sections.

Here are the first two areas completed:

   
 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Verna Wilder permalink
    June 19, 2015 2:02 pm

    I like this! Looking forward to seeing your progress. Did you mark the canvas yourself? If so, kind of marker did you use? I’ve been following your blog for awhile and really enjoy seeing the photos.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      June 20, 2015 4:00 pm

      I did not mark the canvas but I have in the past used a #4 pencil. Everyone in the guild who is doing the challenge is working with the same design. It should be very interesting to see the finished ones at our November meeting.

      • Verna Wilder permalink
        June 20, 2015 4:04 pm

        Thanks for letting me know about the #4 pencil. I’ll try that. I hope the guild will post some of the finished pieces on their new web site. It’s fun to see how different they are based on color and stitch.

  2. Liz permalink
    June 20, 2015 7:23 am

    Very nice. Love the section with the hearts.

  3. Kathy Larsen permalink
    June 20, 2015 9:12 am

    Oh, how fun! The colors are looking wonderful; nice coordination and balancing. I look forward to seeing how it looks as it progresses.

  4. Marianne Luckett permalink
    June 21, 2015 11:34 pm

    Absolutely love it! It looks like a lot of fun and should go quickly.

  5. June 23, 2015 5:52 pm

    What a lovely design! I like the idea of a needlepoint “quilt” block.

    I’ve just discovered your blog and have been enjoying having a bit of a browse through some of your posts. I thought I’d mention that I host a weekly Stitchery Link Party for all things hand embroidered and I would love to have you come link up. http://www.supermomnocape.com/2015/06/22/vintage-embroidery-monday-stitchery-link-party-11/

    I do hope you come join the fun!

Leave a comment