Skip to content

Back from Seminar

October 13, 2010

Meredith Instructing

I arrived home Saturday night from a wonderful week in Columbus.  I was very tired and fighting a cold that someone was kind enough to share with me.  I spent Sunday vegging in my recliner and watching football. My embelishment class was a great experience.  There were four teachers, Tony Mineari, Meredith Willet, Susanne Howren and Beth Robertson.  The class was divided, into four areas and each day we had one of the teachers working with everyone in our area on choosing threads and stitches for our individual canvases.  There was a wide variety of canvases brought to class. I had the smallest canvas in class.  My Indian Woman is coming along fine.  I am learning that with painted canvases there is more putting in and taking out of stitches until just the right effect is acheived.Here is a glimpse of my canvas after two days of class.  I will go into more detail on the process I went through with stitch and thread selection soon.  I just wanted to get back online.  My cold is still slowing me down. I am glad to be back home.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    October 13, 2010 7:55 pm

    Jan – it was a great week with a great roommate. I prescribe more chicken soup (with noodles or stars depending on how young or old you’re feeling) with grilled cheese fingers!

    Melinda

  2. October 14, 2010 9:43 am

    Welcome home! Definitely go with the chicken soup! And some herb tea maybe?
    Your Indian Woman is looking really good. I will be watching her development with interest.

  3. Susan Heider permalink
    October 19, 2010 2:01 pm

    Stitch Lady – sorry you are under the weather with a cold. However, since you were at seminar (needlepoint camp), my sympathy is limited. I was unable to attend this year and am have withdrawal. Hope you are on the mend soon so you can give us every great detail from seminar! thanks!

    Susan H.

  4. October 21, 2010 11:12 am

    i like this…very good. please comment back at http://www.aingindra.com/2010/10/seminar-jakarta-indonesia-2011.html

  5. November 5, 2010 6:37 am

    I am wondering what stitch/thread you used for the grey pot? It has a very interesting texture.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      November 5, 2010 10:04 am

      The stitch is a simple long and short. It is the thread Boucle that gives it a stucco look that I was trying to achieve. Jan  https://stitchlady.wordpress.com My needlework blog. Do Visit

Leave a comment