Skip to content

Summer Challenge Update

July 20, 2017

A sleepless night resulted in some design ideas popping up….I’d rather be sleeping.

If you are paying close attention you will notice that I changed the direction of the Flying Crosses. This was a result of playing with my directional drawing. When I am doing a project like this I make several copies of the line drawing. One I  use to play with the directional look I want the whole project to have.  One I carefully write  the stitches, threads used and the # of strands for each stitch. Trying to put all of this on one drawing gets messy and sometimes hard to read when I return to a project. If I am working a project with many colors a third drawing will get colored penciled. This gives me a pretty good idea of the final look….and it is much better than starting to stitch and changing my mind about color placement.

Since this is monochromatic I just made a black and white copy of my proposed threads to check for enough contrast. The placement of values I did in my head. Once I decided that the focal point would be the center heart, I decided to work from light to dark.  The scattered Rhodes stitches will be surrounded by multi sized Smyna stitches in a light thread.

More soon.  Happy Stitching

IMG_1026

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nlctx permalink
    July 20, 2017 3:13 pm

    I really do like this project! Might want a reddish pink. Anyway it is super. I cannot remember (if I ever knew) if this is a class offering or not. It would be lovely to stitch

    • stitchlady permalink*
      July 21, 2017 10:01 am

      If you really read the post you would know that a monochromatic color scheme would not accept a “pink”. This is a program that I personally designed for my needlepoint chapter.

      • nlctx permalink
        July 21, 2017 10:06 am

        Sorry! Advanced education will do this to a person. Really great project!

Leave a Reply

