Skip to content

Christmas Candles Progress 

January 21, 2017

This may turn out to be my first finish of the year. I had to carefully lay four strands of dark blue floss to cover the top portion of the canvas.   This is a painted canvas so why was the top left white??? 

I am trying to figure how to finish this. I would like to have it framed. That would mean doing some background stitching. This presents another challenge ( notice I did not say problem) I would like the outside edges of the candles to be smoother. I may have to couch a line or two of metallic ( ?) braid after I do the background.. I am anxious to finish this as I am so close to the end and it fits into my goal for the year. Which is to complete several Christmas projects for my entry hall by next year.

My DH and I are packing tonite for a week trip to Yuma. We have friends who now live in Yuma and some friends from our days of RVing are gathering for a rally. Of course I am taking a project. The Tassels are going with me because there is some easy stitching and some easy decisions I can make on the fly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2017 9:09 am

    Your candles are lovely. What if, add a couple extra rows all around of each area. So everything gets bigger but the overall shape stays the same. Then have your framer cut a mat to fit, covering up enough of the stitching to make the edge smooth.

  2. January 29, 2017 9:28 am

    It turned out great. How about finishing as a stand up piece? Add a small border of white background stitches, something subtle like alternating continental.

Leave a Reply

