Skip to content

Wright Kimono COMPLETED

May 31, 2016


10 minutes ago I finished my kimono.‼️‼️‼️‼️Except for some buttons that I need to locate for the left sleeve. The original instructions called for stitching 3 circles on the left sleeve before putting in the Flair. No way this was happening. It would have put this in the  “never to be finished” pile. 😀😀 Toni mentioned in class that some students had used buttons on the left sleeve. So now the hunt begins. I will take the kimono with me to eliminate guessing what will look right.

Red DMC Memory Thread was couched around the whole kimono as the finishing touch. I am not as pleased with my work on this project as I have been on some. It is the curved edges that I wish were more perfect. Circles on a square grid are always a challenge. This is a technique I need to work on. Toni has some great info on circles in the class material. I just need to practice.

Now on to finish one of my three project in the “almost done” pile so I can start on my Summer Challenge. More on the Chapter Summer Challenge soon. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gail Patrick permalink
    May 31, 2016 1:33 pm

    I have really enjoyed watching your progress on this piece and seeing your other stitching as well. You are very talented. I am working on the Wright Kimono myself, and I am closing in on the finish line, too. Many difficult sections and lots of learning on my part. Yours looks terrific. Congratulations!

  2. Barbara Allen permalink
    May 31, 2016 2:59 pm

    WOW! What an incredible piece. Thanks SO MUCH for sharing it with us.

  3. Mary Ann Misenhimer permalink
    May 31, 2016 7:00 pm

    Congratulations, especially after the frustration of the Flair. It looks lovely!

  4. June 1, 2016 9:00 am

    Kudos! Buttons are a great idea. I skipped stretching the flair on mine. About to tackle the sleeves.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      June 2, 2016 9:03 am

      Did you just use more Flair without stretching it?

Leave a Reply

