Skip to content

Works In Progress (WIP)

May 19, 2016

I started to go through my library of stitch related books this morning in hopes of paring it down some, hours later…….I was shocked to discover that I have over 100 books in my library.

I am sure that I am not the only one who starts looking for something and winds up going through all the “stuff” you have as one thing leads to another. I found projects that I had forgotten all about. (Fancy that) . These projects included two original designs that I put aside for who knows why.  The long time blog readers may recognize this project. The title is Carnival. It is based on a Watercolor thread by the same name. I love all the bright colors. I do remember that I put it aside because I could not figure out exactly what to fill in the blank spots with…….so close to being done.


The above original design is titled From The Air. Have you ever just looked out a plane window when traveling and marveled at the geometric world we live in? Squares, rectangles, circles, rivers wandering and all the different colors.  That is the inspiration for this design. I do not remember why I put it aside. It will be the first one I take out of the box when I finish my Kimono and Mestique……already making notes on stitches and threads.

All this has started me thinking about a way to keep track of what I have “pending” I have read lots of articles and blog posts about organizing. Most of them seem too complicated and time consuming . Why take time organizing when that time could be used stitching?

No I have not come up with a magic scheme……my solution is to mark my calendar once a quarter (every 3 months) and walk through my WIPS. Keeping them in the front of my memory should encourage me to select one every now and then to work on and perhaps finish.

Now as soon as I get showered and dressed I will head back to my studio to work on Kimono…….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nlctx permalink
    May 19, 2016 11:49 am

    My beloved grandmother had a saying that seems apt for my self—-and, I would guess, many other stitchers,: Your eyes are bigger than your stomach.” I see oh, so many canvases and./or designs and I am mostly unable to resist. The person who can solve
    this “universal stitcher’s” problem gets my vote and a gold star. Stitch on.

  2. Mary Ruth permalink
    May 19, 2016 1:06 pm

    You could make a WIP page for your blog.

  3. Jan permalink
    May 19, 2016 3:52 pm

    Thank you, Jan, for sharing your book count. My husband is always asking why I need so many needlepoint books ( I have around 30). Sharing your number with him helped him perhaps understand large numbers of books are not unusual. Jan H.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      May 20, 2016 6:31 pm

      So good to hear from you. I hope to see you in New Orleans. I managed to pull 15 books to donate to the guild for baskets. Let’s see if I get any back. 😀

Leave a Reply

