Skip to content

More Mystique

April 8, 2016

IMG_0645

Have you ever looked at a set of instructions with the stitching path marked and wondered “Why?”. If you look at the background stitched in the center area it appears to be some type of tent.  The instructions said to fill each quadrant of the center square with 4 way continental….. Arrows indicated the path to be followed and I just scratched my head. I have done 4 way continental before but not as described. The directions seemed to make the path more difficult than necessary.   I got out several of my stitch books and could not find one showing the path as described in my directions. Carolyn Mitchell must have had a reason for the path….  I went back to my instructions and read them several more times and finally the light bub went on. She wanted a open lace effect in those areas Probably because more will go on top of the background stitching. I learn something nearly every day I pick up a needle. Below is a photo of the path I used to stitch. All four stitches going into the center hole and moving in a diagonal row. No threads cover the holes when the path is followed…..who knew. You can see the lacy look in the areas already completed. The photo is not as focused as I would like but getting close ups with mu iPad is a challenge.

IMG_0640

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2016 9:30 am

    Wow! That is an interesting comment on an unusual stitch.

  2. April 12, 2016 6:01 am

    Always learn from your explanations. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

