Skip to content

Mystique, Pre-work

January 27, 2016

  
I am one of those students that believes that pre-work required for a class should be finished prior to day one of the class. Our Tucson ANG chapter is fortunate to have Carolyn Mitchell teaching a class in mid-February. The design is titled Mystique.  It is a counted geometric design. I am looking forward to actually being in a class.  The design area is approximately 13″  X 13″ but not a square. It is an irregular design. I have my eggshell canvas (color did not show true in my photo) on 18″ X 18″ stretcher bars. The original instructions call for 17″ X 17″ stretcher bars but I did not have 17″ evertites stretcher bars so, as I have done many times, I cut my own canvas to fit the bars I have, in this case 18″.  A little extra canvas around the design is a good thing.

The photo shows my progress on the pre-work after three days of a couple hours each day. I am using #8 pearl cotton, Ecru.  The class offered two color ways but I opted to use my stash…….not sure this was the best decision. In reviewing the supply list I found it a challenge to make substitutions. As a result I have a bag of threads that all can be used together. Some overdyes, some metallics, some floss……way more than I should need.  What to use where will be a challenge. What is a class without a challenge?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane Ackley permalink
    January 27, 2016 4:56 pm

    I took this piece and I think it was one of the most beautiful pieces I have ever stitched.

  2. January 28, 2016 8:38 am

    Good for you! I agree, pre work should be completed before class begins. You will enjoy the challenge of your threads. I have done that a couple of times and been happy with the final product. Even with the tough decisions to be made!!

Leave a Reply

