Skip to content

Bits and Pieces

January 4, 2016

I have not stitched at all so far in 2016. I have been cleaning and sorting ……my studio……using this activity as an excuse to not stitch on my WIPs just can’t get excited about working on WIPS 🙂 I know this happens to all of us. I want to start a new project but feeling guilty about doing so. I probably will start a new small project before the day is done. I am trying to catch up on emails and other paperwork so I will feel free to stitch.  My, my the old tapes that play in our heads. I have to have “spare”time to stitch….really !!!!!

The vase in the photo below is two years worth of orts. I have compressed them several times and I think I will empty the vase and start again for 2016.

IMG_0552

I know we all have more needle minders (magnets) than we will ever use. I select different one for each project I work. My minders in waiting rest on a my chart holder…which rarely gets used to hold charts. Anyone have any other ways of displaying needle minders? I hate to put them in a drawer or box as, in most cases, they are never seen again. 🙂

New project will be seen soon. Have a good day. I am going to my stash and play.

IMG_0553

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2016 12:08 pm

    We share a large number of ideas! In 2013, I decided to only stitch WIPS! This came to be more of a conviction in 2915. Did better but not perfect…am stitching a small Christmas ornament and want to finish it before start (or finish) another soon!
    I also have a large # of needle minders but leave on WIPS. Still have more WIPS than needle minders. Maybe I just need to work on getting the #’s of WIPS and needle minders to balance!
    HAPPY NEW YEARS!!
    Donna Lawrence

  2. January 4, 2016 12:29 pm

    They are placed on my metal light floor lamp. I don’t know the brand. And, I don’t have tons of them but it could hold tons.

  3. January 4, 2016 12:44 pm

    I used News Years Eve and New Years Day to clean and straighten my craft room. However, I am really excited to stitch and finish some of my WIPs as well as start new projects. While I started a new project on News Years Day I also worked on a WIP which I completed on January 3rd. Now I get to start another new project and work on another WIP as well. As for orts I probably should do the same thing since my vase is almost full. I put the orts in clear Christmas ornaments and mark the year with a sharpie. I also keep my needle minders on my magnetic chart holder so they are displayed. I hope you enjoy your stitching journey this year. I know I am looking forward to mine.

  4. Lori permalink
    January 4, 2016 7:03 pm

    Hi,
    I don’t have so many needle minders, but my friend has a ton! She uses a magnetic board similar to this one http://store.dorm-decor.com/products/magnet-board-with-scalloped-edge
    She wove a ribbon through the holes and hung it up by tying the ribbon in a bow. This way, she can choose whichever one(s) she wants and enjoys looking at the ones she’s not actively using.
    Lori

  5. marcia barrere permalink
    January 8, 2016 6:48 pm

    I have my magnets (needle minders) on the pole of my Dazor floor stand–along with scissors, needles, laying tool. It is a mess–but very handy!!!

Leave a Reply

