Skip to content

Snowman Almost Complete

December 28, 2015

The holidays are nearing an end. Being retired and not working should give me lots of extra time.  I just do not understand why I have a hard time getting into my studio to stitch. I am beginning to believe that having an iPad is bad for my stitching……..I spend more time browsing, reading and less time stitching. Have any of you felt the same way?

I finally spent a few hours on several days in order to get close to finishing my Snowman. I beaded the snowflakes, finished the scarf and face. I added the smile lines to his mouth, put large beads that came with the canvas for the eyes. I now need to work on the nose and the background . Haven’t decided on what stitches to use. I have a large bell, that also came with the canvas to place on top of the stitched bell area.  My goal is to have him done before the new year.

This month I passed a blogging milestone when I went over 300,000 hits during my 6+ years of blogging. I want to thank all of you who follow and offer encouragement when I get stumped or brain dead. 🤗. There have been many stitching blogs that have come and gone over the years. I do sometimes miss my goal of posting once a week (like now) but I feel a responsibility to continue because I miss some of the blogs who have faded away and I don’t want you to miss me. I wish all of you a safe and healthy New Year. Who knows what projects I will do this year but I know they will be fun. 

  

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanette B permalink
    December 28, 2015 10:11 am

    Beautiful!

  2. Diane Schaffer permalink
    December 28, 2015 11:00 am

    He’s soooo cute! I love him!

  3. December 28, 2015 11:14 am

    I agree! The iPad is fun, but gard on the stitching fun. It is too available and easy to connect.

    The smartphone is an even bigger distraction! Have to pull myself together!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!
    DONNA LAWRENCE

  4. Mary Ellen permalink
    December 28, 2015 11:36 am

    Look for a darning pattern of a snowflake for the background. He is cute. You are right about the IPad distracting one from stitching, I am guilty of that.

  5. Phyllis permalink
    December 28, 2015 4:43 pm

    Love it

  6. Marianne Luckett permalink
    December 28, 2015 11:30 pm

    I retired five years ago and, like you, have no idea where the time goes. I think I found more time to stitch when I was working. Love your snowman. He is beautiful. Best wishes for a happy, healthy New Year!

  7. Pamela Belokostolsky permalink
    December 29, 2015 3:02 am

    He is so cute, I am guilty of I tablet I haven’t stitched in months

  8. December 29, 2015 6:07 am

    If you want a solid stitch try Nobuko, an open stitch could be skip tent, but I also think creating your own darning pattern of a snowflake would be perfect.

  9. December 29, 2015 9:35 am

    I like the idea of snowflakes too. Yes, browsing on the iPad takes up tons of time, although it also results in some good ideas for stitching! I still manage 2-4 hrs of stitching per day. How on earth did I ever have time to work!!

  10. December 29, 2015 9:36 am

    I forgot: how’s the Bargello project doing?

  11. December 30, 2015 10:01 am

    I find the PC, I-Pad & Facebook are huge time thiefs. They also require no thought or energy. Love the Snowman.

Leave a Reply

