Skip to content

STARBURST Chapter Project ANG The Beginning

November 30, 2015

I have temporarily put aside my Snowman and my Carrots to begin on a Project for my Tucson ANG chapter. This is a project from the ANG Chapter Project book that is only available to chapter members. It was billed as a very easy and small bargello, project that will be available at our January 2016 meeting. Most of you who have followed me for any length of time know that I love bargello. I was asked to present some tips for doing bargello. I decided that the only way I could do this would be to stitch the project early so that the tips could relate to this project.

The original chart called for congress cloth but I prefer to use 18ct canvas. My conversion told me that I would need a 14″ X 14″ piece of canvas. The actual design is approximately 10 inches square.  This would be at the top end of what I consider a small project. I realize that it is larger on the canvas than it would be on congress cloth.  The design is entitled Starburst and the designer is Patricia Hartman of Wakeman, OH.

When I received the instructions I was surprised to see that it was a four way bargello design where the quarters did not join each other.  This is not difficult it just means that you must count, count and count again until you are sure each quarter in in the proper place in relation to the other quarters.  I find that it is best to get something in each quarter before trying to complete everything. Placing the diagonal basting that shows here is ABSOLUTELY necessary for a design of this type.

Here is where I am at this point.  The canvas and thread choices are from my stash. The flash has washed out my colors. I will try to get a better photo next time.

IMG_0514

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    December 6, 2015 10:53 am

    You are brilliant and I am sure you will have great comments for the ANG meeting in January since you stitched it early!!

  2. carolkingbarrow permalink
    December 28, 2015 11:17 am

    My ANG chapter will also begin stitching this in January 2016. As VP of programs, I stitched it in advance on the black congress cloth. Know what you mean about counting! Are you color matching your variegated thread? It really did make a difference

    • stitchlady permalink*
      December 28, 2015 5:29 pm

      I did manipulate my Waterlilies. With small areas I thought it was a good chance to encourage some of our members to give it a try.

  3. carolkingbarrow permalink
    December 29, 2015 7:13 am

    When does your chapter meet? Please let me know how things progress. Also, does your chapter have a website? Ours is njneedleartists.org and we also have a chapter blog.

Leave a Reply

