Skip to content

President’s Challenge complete

November 3, 2015

For once I am ahead of a deadline. You may remember that in May my ANG chapter president issued a summer challenge to be completed and brought for Show and Share at the November potluck. I think I posted some photos when I was first getting started. My blog posting has lacked in frequency, I hope to remedy this in the coming months.

A refresher…..in May we received a line drawn canvas and drew a bag of 6 threads.  We drew blind so we had to use whatever we got.  We had to use all threads but could also add threads. Each thread had to be used for more than a few stitches 🙂

The canvas design reminded me of a square of patchwork. The colors I got were green, peach , gold metallic and two overdyes. I added a couple of values of the green and peach and added a Krienik 1/16 ribbon in the same gold as the #4 braid I got.

Here is the result. I finished it today. Well ahead of our November 21st meeting. The embelishments came from sorting through an old box of “things I just couldn’t get rid of”. The flowers were actually in a string to be used as lace but I cut them apart.

It was fun deciding what to put where. Trying to keep color balance as well as design balance really put my brain to work. The one area I am not sure I succeeded in was establishing a focal point…..is there only one?? or more?? The all white flower was my perceved focal point but the size of the other flowers should have been smaller. Oh well, I just used what I had.  This was fun to do and I am anxious to see some of the others. I will try to get some photos of others, with stitcher’s permission, and post them here after the meeting.

Now I can get back to my Carrots.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda Palmer permalink
    November 3, 2015 5:11 pm

    Impressive!

    BTW, my DVR stopped right after the OT tie field goal, so I didn’t have to watch the final moment of pain last night.

    As someone on one of my calls today said…the Colts played well for a good 6-8 minutes.  A good game if you ignore the other 50+ minutes!

    Sent from AT&T Mail on Galaxy Note 4

    From:”STITCHLADY’S ADVENTURES” Date:Tue, Nov 3, 2015 at 6:23 PM Subject:[New post] President’s Challenge complete

    stitchlady posted: “For once I am ahead of a deadline. You may remember that in May my ANG chapter president issued a summer challenge to be completed and brought for Show and Share at the November potluck. I think I posted some photos when I was first getting started. My bl”

  2. Mary Ann Misenhimer permalink
    November 3, 2015 6:04 pm

    Could the focal point be the convergence point in the lower middle?

  3. November 5, 2015 9:32 am

    My eye went straight to the white flower, then moved around. Good job! Very springy & pretty.

Leave a Reply

