Skip to content

Baroque – Something new

April 20, 2015

  
I spent a wonderful few hours going through the pile of things on my “want to do” list. Making a selection is never easy. I want to do them all !!!! 

I finally settled on a Jean Hilton chart that was given to me by a good friend and had some threads with it as she had completed the design. The title is Baroque. I have almost all of Jean Hilton’s old original designs.  They are so beautiful and always a challenge.  I am working on dark green canvas. The outline stitches are done in #5 pearl.

Years ago when I was working on one of Jean’s designs and discussing a problem I was having with the chart . . . .to my surprise she responded to my blog post. I felt very honored that she followed my blog and we had quite a discussion on the chart.  We lost a very important part of needlework history when we lost Jean. 

Old charts present a bit of a challenge as most of them are hand drawn.  How quickly we become spoiled with computerized instructions and diagrams.  Than goodness teachers took the time to do charts by hand.

  

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim gott permalink
    April 21, 2015 2:56 pm

    I have done this piece. It is beautiful and I am sure you will enjoy stitching it as much as I did

  2. stitchlady permalink*
    April 21, 2015 7:17 pm

    I don’t think I have ever seen any of Jean’s designs that I did not want to stitch.

  3. Liz permalink
    April 22, 2015 8:13 am

    I stitched this several years ago. Changed greens to dark blues. I still love it!

  4. Diane Ackley permalink
    April 22, 2015 10:16 am

    I knew Jean quite well and took many classes from her. She was one of a kind and so talented.

Leave a Reply

