Skip to content

Frustrating Chilis 😁

April 2, 2015

  

These red chili peppers are driving me NUTS. I want to get them finished but the counts are so far off as I get to the bottom that I am tearing out my hair.  With only shades of red that are so close to each other it is hard to tell what is right and what is wrong……. I am wondering if the shades really have to be exact.. The outlining will define the chilis. The back stitching is suppose to be another shade of red…… I am considering using black..  Can you even see the one chili that is already backstitched? HELP IF YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. BFromM permalink
    April 2, 2015 10:11 am

    From looking at the picture, I don’t think that you have to be exact in the shades of red, as long as you have the bottom shapes how you want. Chilis have a lot of varied colors. I can’t see the chili that is already backstitched, so I think that trying out black is a good idea.

  2. Jo Ann Jackson permalink
    April 2, 2015 10:59 am

    I agree – you are not posting the chart next to the finished chilies. No one will know. And I cannot tell which one you have finished stitching (including the backstitching). If you did not want to use black, you could use a brown that would provide contrast but not be as harsh.

  3. Barbara permalink
    April 2, 2015 12:31 pm

    What a nightmare! I think the black outline is a definite plus and won’t detract from the piece. One thought is to omit a couple of threads which are basically indistinguishable from two on either side. Finally, my stitching friends occasionally do the ripping out for each other since that part is disheartening, tedious and an all around bummer.

  4. Carol S. permalink
    April 2, 2015 1:07 pm

    I would recommend a dark brown instead of the black. Black can be really harsh, and often does not look natural. DMC 3371 would be a good choice.

    • Carol S. permalink
      April 2, 2015 1:08 pm

      Or maybe a really dark red, like a maroon, if you want to stay in the same color family.

      • Liz permalink
        April 3, 2015 8:36 am

        I agree with Carol.

  5. stitchlady permalink*
    April 2, 2015 3:22 pm

    Thanks for the comments. I like the idea of a dark brown backstitched chilis. I am going to try to figure out the proper bottom of the design and just get some reds in πŸ˜€. I really want to finish this NOT put it in a shelf for “someday”.

  6. April 2, 2015 4:42 pm

    I would suggest outling the peppers with a dark reddish brown like Carol suggested instead of a black.

Leave a Reply

