Skip to content

Stash Cats Progress

January 17, 2015

Stash Cats 1-16

This project is moving along pretty fast. I just can’t seem to stay away from it. I am also trying to stitch a little every day. So far I have missed 2 days this year.  Not too bad.  I know with me that when I am really enjoying a project the time seems to fly by.

As I have mentioned before the “stitch guide” with this is not the traditional stitch guide. One thing that has bothered me about this guide is the fact that in some areas the instructions say to stitch a certain number of rows leaving a row or two of one color to be added to the next area.  My stitching rows never seemed to match the instructions so I just used the painted area as my guide.  The light bub went off yesterday when I suddenly remembered that this canvas could be ordered in other canvas counts than the 18ct that I ordered. The “stitch guide” does not reference any count……I guess doing my own thing will work out OK. I understand that doing a certain number of rows makes for easier compensation.

Area 10: Is done in a cashmere variation. Another instance when there are many variations and a particular one was not mentioned nor diagramed. I used some more of my unknown floss and the photo as a guide I made up my own cashmere variation.

Area 11: This is done in the Van Dyke stitch. I had not done this stitch in a long time and it was fun to remember how it works up. I used more of my unknown floss.

Area 12: This small heart border was diagramed. I chose DMC wool, Blanc,  4 ply for the hearts and 2 ply for the background. I wanted the hearts to stand out and look a little padded.

Area 13: Double Dutch stitch was called for…..I had never heard of this stitch but Suzy’s Surprise Stitches had it diagramed. It is an interesting stitch, easy to work. I used DMC #841, 4ply.

By now some of you are wondering about my “unknown” floss. Quite a while ago I got a very large and complex cross stitch kit in an “opportunity” basket. Knowing that I would never do the project I decided to work the floss (there was a very large amount of over a dozen colors) into my stash.

Stash Cats 1-16 CU

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    January 17, 2015 8:41 pm

    This is so beautiful. The contrast of colours, stitches and patterns is working so well.

  2. Herbert Lawrence permalink
    January 19, 2015 10:25 am

    I totally love this project!  You have great stitch sense!  I think you are so smart to figure why your instructions vary from what the canvas is telling you!  You are a great stitcher.  Really enjoy your blog!

    Donna L.

  3. Marianne Luckett permalink
    January 20, 2015 11:24 pm

    I really enjoy watching this canvas come to life as I, too, have the same one (also 18 count). I was told when I bought mine that the stitch count might be off a little because, unlike a painted canvas, these designs are computer generated and might require some tweaking.

  4. stitchlady permalink*
    January 21, 2015 9:40 am

    This Is a computer generated canvas but it excellent quality and when we remember that the canvas is ours to create…many problems go away. Just Do It! Works for needlepoint also.

Leave a Reply

