Skip to content

More Night Flight

November 11, 2014

On this Veteran’s Day I hope we all take a moment to remember all those who fought so hard for the freedoms that we enjoy so much. Our Grandfathers, fathers, sons and daughters have given so much and should never be forgotten.

I was gone for 4 days to New Mexico for a car show.  My DH is a car guy and a group of us went to Truth or Consequences, NM for a car show at the Veteran’s Home.  They have a wonderful facility for our veterans.  We had a tour and took time to visit and thank some of the residents.

Night Flight 11-10I have made progress on Night Flight and it continues to be  joy to work on.

Area 13 is done in Watercolors #044, Ice. The stitch is Giant Moorish. A Reverse Giant Moorish was used in Area 7. I like the way the same stitches are used in different directions in this design.Night Flight CU 2 11-10

Area 14 This is the first area towards the bottom of the design that goes from one side all the way to the other side. The Watercolors used here is Sage #125 in a bargello stitch.  The area is all done in stitches over three threads and was a very relaxing area for me…the bargello lady 🙂

I am now working on Area 15 and Area 16 at the same time. Area 15 is done in smyrna stitches over two canvas threads with #4 Kreinik #32. It is a white opal. This a very tedious section and thus I have gone to Area 16 for a break. I am doing one strand of Kreinik in Area 15 and then one strand of Watercolors in Area 16.  The Watercolors is Maple #122 and the stitch is Diagonal Brick.

I know the detail on the full shot isn’t very clear. I just thought you might like to see the overall progress.

Night Flight CU 11-10

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    November 11, 2014 4:39 pm

    This is a beautiful piece and I have looked forward to each new email to see the progress and the beautiful threads. Thanks for sharing your beautiful work.

  2. Barbara permalink
    November 11, 2014 7:21 pm

    This piece is incredible and your work is beautiful! Have you done any variation from the chart like with stitch choice or fiber? I think I have to do it

    • stitchlady permalink*
      November 13, 2014 5:26 pm

      So far I have not made any changes but I believe I did change one of the Watercolors at the bottom because I had one very similar to the one that was on the supply list.

Leave a Reply

