Skip to content

Night Flight Almost Half Way

November 4, 2014

 

Night Flight 11-1Some more progress, but life gets in the way of stitching sometimes 🙂 It has been a busy week and some stitching time has helped calm things down.

Area 10 (where the wing ends) is done in Watercolors Pine Forest #083. This is the second area that Pine Forest has been used. The stitch is Horizontal Elongated Cashmere. I broke one of my cardinal rules and paid the price in this area. You can tell that the stitch changes size about a third of the way down……. My cardinal rule when bringing two areas of a single area together is to NEVER stitch from two ends towards  meeting place. In this instance I followed the chart ASSUMNING that my outlining was perfect. The area in question was the area to the left of the end of the wing. When I finally got the right side of the wing worked down to the tip of the wing….I was off by one thread :(.  I hate reverse work and decided that a design change would work.) I increased the vertical width of the cashmere by one thread and continued down the area.  Not sure if this was a good design change or not but it is done and no one but me will ever know that it was supposed to be different. Honest feedback would be appreciated. I probably should have ripped ……

Night Flight 11-1 CU

Area 11 (to the right and below Area 10) is done in Watercolors #121 Evergreen. This is the same color as used in Area 9, just below the moon, but the stitch used, Horizontal Bargello, makes the color appear a little darker.

Area 12 This is the light blue area to the left of Area 11. Watercolors #133 Delphinium is used with a small mosaic stitch.   Area 3 also used Delphinium but in a long and short horizontal stitch. The color appearance seems the same between these two areas.

On another subject I wish to publicly thank Barbara, one of my regular blog followers, for her generosity in giving me the companion chart to this piece. The title of the companion piece is Desert Sunset. It is full of reds, oranges, earth tones with a touch of blue. I can hardly wait to see all the Watercolors for this piece in one place.  This piece was done in 2004 and the computer charts are much nicer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Mertz permalink
    November 4, 2014 9:36 am

    Beautiful! No need to rip out; your adjustment looks fine.

  2. Patricia Hood permalink
    November 4, 2014 9:42 am

    Beautiful!

  3. Jo Moore permalink
    November 4, 2014 10:08 am

    It’s great and the design change works well as it brings forward the lower area as it probably should. Wish I’d done that.

  4. Irene permalink
    November 4, 2014 1:28 pm

    Love this piece!

    I don’t think the change matters. But I think the only opinion that really counts is your own. If you like it leave it, if you don’t …

  5. Liz permalink
    November 5, 2014 9:01 am

    Agree with Irene. It looks fine to me and if you’re happy with it, it must be right!

Leave a Reply

