Skip to content

Night Flight Update

October 27, 2014

Night Flight 10-27 CU

I can hardly stay away from this project. I finish one area and immediately want to start the next area.

Area 7 (behind the moon) is done in Watercolors #17 Blue Lavender. The stitch is Reverse Giant Moorish. I found getting the pattern started a little confusing. After a little reverse work I had it figured out. Am I the only one who constantly counts in my head once I get a pattern’s stitch sequence down pat? I find that when doing this it makes compensation so much easier. I count without really thinking about it until I need to compensate.

Area 8 is the very small area to the bottom right of the moon. It is done in Watercolors #083 Pine Forest. It was such a small area done in mosaic that it took no time at all.

Area 9 is the area just below the moon. It is done in Watercolors #121 Evergreen. The stitch guide says it is a Diagonal L stitch. I don’t recognize the stitch name but had no trouble following the hand drawn stitch. Remember this pattern is from 1997 before we had wonderful computer generated stitch drawings πŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Mertz permalink
    October 27, 2014 10:33 am

    This is coming along beautifully! I did this pattern a few years ago, and had to substitute some of the fibers. It looks FANTASTIC when finished and framed! Have you seen the companion “desert” pattern?

  2. stitchlady permalink*
    October 27, 2014 1:33 pm

    The Companion piece is called Day Flight and I hope to find a copy to buy.

  3. Barbara Allen permalink
    October 27, 2014 7:47 pm

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I’d seen this piece before (thumbnail) and frankly not too interested. See your progressive work, I now want to do it too! As aleays, you do exquisite work and it’s such a treat that you share it with us.

  4. Barbara Mertz permalink
    October 28, 2014 7:48 am

    Stitch Lady, I have the pattern for a companion piece called “Desert Sunset” that I would be happy to mail to you, no charge. I’ve had the pattern for years, and will never get to stitch it. I love your blog — consider this a thank you gift. Email me at BarbiJKM (at) aol.com with your mailing address and I’ll send it out!

  5. stitchlady permalink*
    October 28, 2014 7:35 pm

    ThanIs so much to Barbara who tells me Desert Sunset is in the mail. I can hardly wait to go shopping for more Watercolors! 😍

Leave a Reply

