Skip to content

Night Flight Continued

October 17, 2014

Night Flight 10-17

I completed Area 3 in a flash. It is done in Watercolors (Delphinium #133). Just a simple horizontal long and short stitch.

Night Flight 10-17 CUThen I moved on to Area 6 ( the eagle). This turned out to be more of a challenge. The first thing I noticed was that one ply of Watercolors was not going to cover the horizontal stitches. this is because I am supposed to be stitching on blue canvas which would not be obvious through the stitches. I am working on eggshell (that’s what I had in my stash that was the right size) ………  I decided that I would have to use two ply of Watercolors (Midnight #072) and hope that I did not run out.  In order to use two ply I had to get a #18 needle to keep the canvas from shredding the thread.  The chart for the eagle runs over three pages and is a challenge to follow. It is hard to get a stitching rhythm going so I am just plugging along.  The change of direction in the stitches again comes into play on the eagle.  When I step back and look I am amazed at how different it looks than when I am looking through my #4 magnifiers to stitch.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JHM permalink
    October 17, 2014 5:53 pm

    My directions recommended painting the area dark blue or black, then stitching it. If you aren’t too far you could try that.

    Jackie

  2. stitchlady permalink*
    October 17, 2014 6:44 pm

    I am not into painting canvas. I really should learn how and what to use so I won’t be so leary of trying it..

  3. October 17, 2014 8:15 pm

    have been following you for the past year and finally have built up the courage to give this style of needlepoint or any needlepoint which involves more than continental stitch ago. Pls remind me of the stitches you have used to date on this piece. All my needlepoint “skills” have been gained by looking at what people post online and YouTube (!) and of course stitch dictionaries. Thanks.

  4. Susan permalink
    October 18, 2014 7:40 am

    Beautiful stitching. I have this pattern in my stash, now feel like I needed to stitch it. You are great inspiration for others. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Liz permalink
    October 18, 2014 8:09 am

    Looking good! When I get bits of light canvas showing after stitching, I sometimes fix those spots with a matching very fine point Sharpie. Carefully of course! I’ve never had a problem. That’s only for pieces that will never get wet.

Leave a Reply

