Skip to content

Playing with my SW Lady

March 5, 2014

SW Lady Cactus 3-3

 

I spent a couple of days playing with my painted canvas. I completed two of the cactus in tent stitch and then began playing with ideas for her dress/coat. There is so much white on this canvas that I decided I wanted to mute the white on the coat. Using the Jacquard stitch in two colors was my choice after trying several. I am using a pale tan for the tent portion of the stitch and #8 white pearl for the step portion of the stitch. After doing a large portion and deciding that I liked the look I began to tent stitch with #12 pearl in a kackey color. Next I played with one of the red flowers. I am not sure I have the final choice. I will look at it for a few days. I tried the leaf stitch but the shape of the leaves on the canvas just didn’t work. I am having fun trying different stitches and have decided that what I like is all that matters.SW Lady Cactus Flower CU

SW Lady Cactus Dress

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Ellen Winnicki permalink
    March 5, 2014 7:25 pm

    You should try the flowers in velvet, and bead the centers, it will really blow your mind!

  2. Margaret permalink
    March 6, 2014 3:15 pm

    I am very fond of those southwestern designs, and this one is especially elegant. I almost always end up using some kind slanted bargello on the wide swooping spots. I like your white/tan mix a lot. But velvet flowers with beaded centers… fabulous. I’m going to swipe that idea for sure. I’m pretty sure I never would have thought of that on my own.

  3. March 7, 2014 7:49 pm

    I love the idea of velvet for the flowers. I had already decided to do beads for the flower centers.

Leave a Reply

