Skip to content

Two Finished Projects !!!

December 20, 2013

Both Ebb Tide and Nature-Sea are finished.

Nature-Sea Finished 12-14

Nature-Sea Shell Fininshed CUNature-Sea needed the shell to be attached. In the last post I showed a shell just laying on the canvas. I did not use that shell. I chose a different one that was a little flatter and had no ridges. Although it can not be seen in the photo the shell I used has a little color on one edge. The method of attaching was not difficult. It did take a little time. I used two ply of floss to make the attachment. Liz Morrow does such great instructions. I encourage anyone who would like to try bargello to get one of her designs.

Ebb Tide just needed a few finishing tent stitches in each corner and the jewels glued on. It is kind of hard to see the jewels that are in the center of each gold circle. The jewels pick up color depending on the light source.  I thought gluing, as instructed, them would help provide a flat surface but it is not possible. Because of the number of stitches going into the center of each circle there is not a flat area for the jewel. At a distance they look OK but close up the fact that they are slightly uneven bothers me. Oh well…….not much I can do at this point. I have shown it to a couple of non-stitchers and no one seemed to notice.

Ebb Tide Center Finished CUNow I am on to something new.  More on that next time when I have something to show you.

I wish all my readers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Thank you for making this blog a part of you life.

Ebb Tide Finished

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2013 11:25 am

    Both projects are beautiful. The jewels on Ebb Tide look great! Now to get mine done!

  2. Barbara permalink
    December 20, 2013 2:02 pm

    These are beautiful and I particularly like the asymmetry of Nature-Sea. Always gives me a smile when I see an update email from you — always interesting, lovely pieces!

  3. December 25, 2013 6:22 pm

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to
    say that I’ve truly loved surfing around your
    blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your feed and
    I am hoping you write again soon!

  4. Jocelyn permalink
    December 29, 2013 6:35 pm

    Ebb Tide is great – but Nature-sea is just wonderful!! To me it looks like a creek or river winding through the hills. I love it.

    And it makes me wonder about the process you go through when you develop a new piece…. Do you plan it all out in detail first? Or just start stitching with an idea in your mind? Or a combination, perhaps a sketch, then you start stitching? And does each stitch stay once it done, or do find yourself ripping some out because you’ve changed your mind?
    Any chance of a post sometime, about your processes?
    Joceling in NZ

    • stitchlady permalink*
      December 29, 2013 7:20 pm

      Liz Morrow is the designer and I have no idea how her design mind works but I love her designs. Nature-Sea is just one of three in a series.

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

      >

Leave a Reply

