Skip to content

Ebb Tide, The Beginning

September 23, 2013

Ebb Tide The Beginning

This past week has been very frustrating from a stitching point of view. I have started two projects….yes two. There is a reason behind this unusual occurence. One of the projects is an online class that will be ongoing for 6 months. So far I have transferred a line drawing onto congress cloth. You will get more on this as there is more to see.

Then, with class work done, I decided to start a new Laura Perin Design entitled Ebb Tide. I had the ecru canvas and opps! no 14″ stretcher bars and no size that I could adapt 😦  I headed off to Missoula last Monday(an hours drive) and after a couple of hours of driving to find the local Michael’s and JoAnn’s only to discover that there wasn’t any stretcher bars in Missoula.  Michael’s has discontinued carrying them as has JoAnn’s. A phone call to Threadneedle Street in Issaquah, WA and my wonderful friend and shop owner, Denise, promised to get the needed stretcher bars in the mail that day. I have always tried to support local needlework shops. I use Threadneedle Street when I am in the northwest and The West in Tucson when I am down south

I played computer games and read a good book until Thursday when my stretcher bars arrived.

Ebb Tide was on display at seminar and conveniently thread packs had been assembled.  The photo on the project looks interesting but the stitched model looked stunning !!! To see a photo of the finished piece please visit www.laurajperindesigns.com .

By Thursday night I had the canvas mounted and began to stitch the borders.  All was going real well until Saturday night…..anyone of you who have ever done a Laura Perin Design knows that there is always something that is not quite right with the chart.  Usual not a big thing, just a stitch or two left out,  a thread number missing.  It can be solved with a little common sense.  Well, I guess I am all out of common sense because one area of the border just has me flustered.  I decided I had stitched and restitched the problem area so many times from the stitch guide and the master chart that I needed to put it aside and all would make sense on Sunday.  NOT ! After several more tries and much counting I decided to stitch the adjacent area to reassure myself that I had not made a counting mistake.  Below shows the problem area at the bottom.  It is a padded border and the green stitching on top just doesn’t look right to me and it does not come out as shown on the master chart.  The blue stitches verified that the area that I was stitching in was counted correctly.  For now I am working on the other areas and trying to decide if I will try the top layer of the problem border section or redesign it….. but at least I am stitching. 🙂

Ebb Tide Problem Area

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Ruth in NC permalink
    September 23, 2013 4:36 pm

    Should be http://www.laurajperindesigns.net not .com

  2. Carolyn Stolhand permalink
    September 23, 2013 5:11 pm

    hey, Jan,

    My husband and I are in Missoula tonight, heading back to Washington after a fabulous trip through Glaicer NP, Yellowstone NP and Grand Tetons NP. have you tried to email Laura Perrin about the problem you’re having? I bet she’d be more than happy to try to “fix” the problem.

  3. Joetta Melton permalink
    September 23, 2013 5:24 pm

    Jan, if you save Laura’s photo of Ebb Tide from her web site to your desktop, then crop/enlarge the lower left corner, you can see where she compensated with an extra stitch in the blue triangle on the far left…. Would that help your counting problem?

  4. September 23, 2013 5:53 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions. I have never tried to contact Laura and maybe I should this time.

    • susan permalink
      September 24, 2013 8:36 am

      Laura is always so helpful if you need her and she loves feedback. Beautiful piece and your work is always wonderful!

  5. Linda G permalink
    September 23, 2013 6:12 pm

    I love Laura’s designs, but like you, always find a mistake. Maybe she’s Amish – always a mistake because no one but God is perfect 🙂

  6. Irene permalink
    September 24, 2013 1:03 am

    Looking closely at the padded border on the bottom, there are two things I notice that, when looking at the green and metallic threads, where it enter holes at the bottom of the blue triangles, the usual pattern is green, blank, metallic, green. There are two places where you deviate from this:
    1. the second metallic from the left (there is no blank and the metallic thread is not straight up and down, and
    2. to the far right where you have a blank on both sides of the metallic thread.

    I hope this helps.
    Irene

    • Irene permalink
      September 24, 2013 1:04 am

      P.S. Love Ebb Tide. It’s on my wish list.

  7. September 24, 2013 4:38 am

    I have Ebb Tide on stretcher bars and ready to stitch, but after reading your blog, will wait until you finish so I can learn. Hope you solve your problem. Thanks for posting great pictures.

  8. September 24, 2013 10:02 am

    The green border on top looks like it is slanted the opposite way from the ones on either side. Maybe it is supposed to be that way, but?
    I’m sure Laura will be glad to help. She is very responsive.

  9. needlnfool permalink
    September 24, 2013 1:01 pm

    That’s what you Get for following the directions far stitching sequence! We rebels haven’t had that problem yet. I guess I’ll have to get mine started again!

Leave a Reply

