Skip to content

Memorial Wreath Complete…at last

September 15, 2013

Memorial Wreath Complete

I did not make my goal of finishing Memorial Wreath yesterday. There was so much to the background. More than twice the area of the wreath design.

The photo just looks blahhhh. The Background is done in three threads. DMC #8 pearl Cotton and floss number 712 and Kreinik #8 braid #191. It took almost two full spools of the Kreinik ! That added a wonderful slight glitter to the whole background which does not show up in my photos.  Memorial Wreath Background Stitch Diagram I have included the stitch diagram for the background stitch steps.  This is by far the most intense “background” I have ever stitched.

Memorial Wreath Background Step 3

This photo shows the background with step 3 complete.

There will be a tied ribbon attached to the bottom of the wreath when I get back to Arizona. It will be framed with a six inch circle mat…in case you were wondering about the overall shape of the project.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2013 2:55 pm

    Jan, you’ve done a splendid job……..I love the background although it was very ‘labour intensive’ , I think it was worth it ! Will look forward to seeing it in the frame…….
    I’m dying to see what your next project will be ?
    hugs
    Christina
    xx

  2. Donna Lawrence permalink
    September 15, 2013 3:03 pm

    Hi Jan!!
    Your piece is beautiful! Congratulations on doing such a great job! You always inspire me to work harder and improve my stitching!!

    I did Patricia’s Christmas wreath a bunch of years ago and had it made into a hexoganal (SP) pillow. I love it and still haul it out every Christmas even after all these years!

    Looking forward to seeing you back in SV!!

  3. September 16, 2013 6:12 am

    Beautiful!

  4. jean bailey permalink
    September 19, 2013 4:44 pm

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! what are you going to do with it now???????????????????????

Leave a Reply

