Skip to content

Lee Canvas Some Progress

July 12, 2013

Lee Canvas NOT KnotsMy stitching time has been limited as of late. After leaving the Columbia River Gorge it was a busy weekend inland in Yakima, WA for a family gathering and wedding. Expecting it to be HOT were pleased that it was only 90.

Now I am back on the west side of the mountains in WA and the weather is wonderful. In the 70’s with clouds and sun. Some housework ( 😦 ) was in order. It is always at the bottom of my list but it has to be done sometime. A free book email every day has loaded by iPad with great books and once I get into a book I have to finish it. Just like a stitching project.

The Lee Canvas is always visible in the front end of the motorhome and I have been staring at it and trying to decide how to bring it all together. I have decided to work on the areas I know what is going to be stitched. This is the upper half of the canvas.

My problem area is the two-color circles. My thought is to add some texture. I thought it would be great to fill the circle with French knots. I made one attempt. (see photo above.)however my knot placement resulted in an awful looking straight line of knots. Any one have a suggestion on how to fill the circle without looking like rows ??

Well, WordPress put my photo at the top instead of where I thought it was going to go. Every time they improve things this novice has to figure things out the hard way πŸ™‚

I am going back to stitching……..

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Lewis permalink
    July 12, 2013 3:14 pm

    You are truly an inspiration. As soon as i finish what I am working on, I am going to sit down and stitch.

  2. Ann Tips permalink
    July 12, 2013 5:03 pm

    Try working the French knots in ‘basket weave’ fashion….I.e.on the diagonal. I got that tip years ago and have used it since.
    P.S. I am the lady you gave all of your information to for Far Hotizons. It is finished and at the framers. I will enter it at the Oklahoma State Fair in September.

    You are a fabulous stitcher and stitching stash ‘enabler’.
    Ann

  3. Jo Ann Jackson permalink
    July 12, 2013 8:19 pm

    I see someone else already suggested working them in a Basketweave fashion (work the rows diagonally just like basketweave. And they will not look like rows.

  4. Diane Ackley permalink
    July 13, 2013 11:47 am

    You could do French knots using basket weave technique. Do row (diagonal) as in basket weave of knots then a row of tent then a row of knots. the basket weave helps the knots to look more even and the tent row separates the knots do they don’t look so crowded.

  5. winogene@comcast.net permalink
    July 21, 2013 10:28 am

    Why don’t you try the Colonial knots????? They are fun to do and actually look so much nicer when there is a whole bunch of them!!!!! Also, then maybe they wouldn’t look like rows !!!!! Try it, you might like it !!!!! πŸ™‚

  6. Kathleen permalink
    July 28, 2013 7:49 am

    I like stitches like criss-cross Hungarian when I want to create something roundish. The alternating direction gives it a non-directional look.

Leave a Reply

