Skip to content

Lee Canvas Progress 7/2

July 2, 2013

I am back in the land of 4G and hot temperatures. I left 70+ degree weather on the WA coast and traveled to the Columbia River Gorge on the OR side where it was 94 yesterday and trying to get there again today. Good weather for reading and stitching.

I mentioned in my last post that I did some ripping and redoing. This involved the lime green area of the design. I have decided that the focal point will be the lime green area…..don’t ask me why, I am just playing with this canvas to see how things work out. I really liked the lattice work I did and decided to fill the spaces created by the lattice with a Smyrna and some beads. I first stitched the Smyrna with the same pearl that I did the lattice and put in some of the beads. After a day of looking at it I decided that it was just a lump of green. I liked the beads but felt that I needed something slightly different in color for the Smyrnas. I had a floss that was a light yellow/green and restitched the smyrnas.

Lee Canvas Green Not goodLee Canvas Green with beadsFor some reason my camera color for these two same areas is slightly off….who knows why? I am not a photographer. I just try to give you a visual of what I am doing. The photo on the left is the one showing the area I did not like and ripped out. The area on the right shows the yellow/green floss that I did the smyrnas in. As usual the beads do not show their sparkle. I am going to do all three areas of lime green the same as the photo on the left.

I next decided to work on a couple of the other areas while I lived with the lime green areas. I went to the light blue area and using floss and scotch stitch I completed the lower section of light blue. I was careful to make sure the scotch stitches lined up from side to side.

You can also see in this photo that I completed the turquoise area in the lower half. I have also completed the turquoise area in the upper half. They are not the same stitch. I liked both of my options and decided they did not need to be the same.

I am now working on the black and white areas and the dark blue areas. More on this real soon.

Lee Canvas Light Blue Area

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2013 8:53 am

    This is looking great Jan. A fun piece for experimenting.
    94 sounds pretty good to me! Even here in Reno it has been over 100 for several days now. But that’s better than LV or AZ!!

  2. Irene permalink
    July 3, 2013 2:59 pm

    Looking good!

Leave a Reply

