Skip to content

Just Stitching For Fun

June 7, 2013

Lee Canvas, The Beginning

I have been carrying this Lee canvas around for several years.  I pulled some threads a couple of years ago and my plan is to just try some stitches and have some fun.  I can not make a mistake or get frustrated at a chart…Yea    It is just what I need now that Gilded Pears is finished.

This canvas does not have a name that I know of.  If anyone has any info on it I would love to hear from you.  I found it in a sale basket quite a while ago.  I have a smaller matching canvas and I believe that they were designed for a purse and wallet. I chose them because they were geometric and there weren’t many of them around when I picked these up.

I began with the light yellow area. Looking at my Suzy’s II app on my iPad I came across a Cashmere Sandwich. Sounds yummy, huh? It is a long cashmere stitch with smyrnas on each side.  I have completed one section of the light yellow and have gone on to the gold/orange area.  I decided to continue with the Smyrna stitch. This time I alternated them in vertical columns. I did 3/4 of the Smyrna in #8 pearl and then the final horizontal stitch in a light yellow #4 Krienik braid.  It doesn’t show in the photo but in reality it just adds a bit of a glint when the light hits it right. The row on the left does not have the Krienik, perhaps you can see the difference.

I am having fun and just stitching 🙂

Cashmere Sandwich

Cashmere Sandwich

Alternating Smyrna

Alternating Smyrna

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda Flasowski permalink
    June 8, 2013 6:37 am

    Love the Cashmere Sandwich. This is a new stitch for me.
    Where can I find it diagramed?
    Brenda

    • stitchlady permalink*
      June 8, 2013 7:28 am

      I found the diagram in Suzy’s Stitches II. I have the app on my iPad. Perhaps a Google search will find it somewhere else. Happy Stitching, Jan

      https://stitchlady.wordpress.com My needlework blog. Do Visit

      ________________________________

  2. June 8, 2013 8:34 am

    What a fun piece! You are going to have a blast choosing stitches and stitching it up any way you please.

  3. June 8, 2013 5:12 pm

    I have a canvas of flowers that someone sent me. Wasn’t sure what kind of fiber to use, since I don’t have a needlepoint store near.
    Then you mentioned using perle coton. I had thought about that as there are colors that are soooo pleasing.
    Thanks. I now have a great option for my fliwers. Love the glisten on top of the stitches. 🙂

  4. June 10, 2013 6:37 am

    Great piece for playing – your pictures are soo good that I can see the glint. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

