Skip to content

Gilded Pears, The Beginning

May 3, 2013

This is a very unusual project for me. This project was featured in the Jan/Feb issue of Needlepoint Now magazine.  It is a Ruth Schmuff design. It actually is a painted canvas but was charted in Needlepoint Now so it could be done as a counted piece.  For some reason it just “called to me”.  I am sure some of you know what that is like.  I am reluctant about taking a photo of the magazine cover to show you the whole project as the magazine is copyrighted . You can visit Ruth’s website www.bedeckedandbeadazzled.com to see the completed project.

I immediately ran into some problems with the chart in the magazine. After getting the Victorian Green canvas and ordering the thread pack from Ruth I was all ready to get started. The instructions said to mark the center of the canvas……..but the chart did not have the center marked. It did not have any stitch dimensions or finished project size that I could use to calculate the size of the chart. I wrote to Elizabeth Bozievich, the editor of Needlepoint Now and asked for some help with the starting point. She was very prompt with a reply and although I may be off a thread or two I located a starting point, which is located in the center of the project.

The outline of the pears is the first step. Part of it is done in Wildflowers, Royal Jewels. I am disappointed with the color changes in my Wildflowers because there is not any gold which is shown in the photo of the finished piece. Oh well…..that is the way it goes sometimes. This is my project so it will not be exactly as shown and that’s OK.

I then began the filling of two of the pears which are done in Splendor silk using a criss-cross Hungarian stitch. I do love laying threads, especially silk. Due to the fact that I am stitching on dark green canvas I can only stitch for an hour or so before I have to give my eyes a rest 🙂  Below are photos of Day 1 and Day 2 progress.

Day 1

Day 1

 

Day 2

Day 2

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2013 2:40 pm

    Very nice. I’m sure there will be beads in your future!

  2. May 5, 2013 6:37 pm

    great looking work. it is nice to be able to do something which you can make your own.

Leave a Reply

