Skip to content

Leaf Collage, Nearing the Finish

April 21, 2013

After more than a week all the background is done. It was easy stitching just time-consuming. Then it was time to study the leaves. There are five leaves. The directions said to start with the center leaf. These leaves will be a challenge as it is random stitches to achieve the desired effect.

Center Leaf Step 1

Center Leaf Step 1

When the center leaf was complete I was amazed at the difference it made to the whole canvas. The leaves are transfers that look like painted canvas. When threads are added it really makes the leaves pop off the canvas.

 Step 2


Step 2

Center Leaf Complete

Center Leaf Complete

I then went on to the lower right leaf.  The colors are completely different but the stitching method is the same. I have chosen to use three strands of each color instead of the recommended two as I have a hard time with the canvas showing through. The transfer colors are not the same as a painted canvas so there is a lot of interpretation to be done. I used the finished photo of the project for some guidance. Mother Nature does not make perfect leaves and I tried to remind myself that whatever I did would be OK if I liked it.

LR Leaf Complete

LR Leaf Complete

I can see the end of this project and am already beginning to wonder “what’s next”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Roberta permalink
    April 21, 2013 5:54 pm

    That is beautiful! I wish I could stitch like you!
    Roberta

    • stitchlady permalink*
      April 22, 2013 10:09 am

      Just stitch like you…everyone is different. I do it because I love it and it keeps me sane. Have a good stitching day. Jan

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

  2. Pat permalink
    April 22, 2013 5:57 pm

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

