Skip to content

Leaf Collage Continues

April 10, 2013

Leaf Collage 4-10

I missed my goal of posting once a week.  I have been experiencing some problems with my stitching hand so I have cut back on my stitching time.  I figured that this must happen sooner or later. It is not bad now and I hope by limiting my stitching (sorta 🙂 ) I will avoid any real serious problems.

I finished Area 3 located in the middle of the bottom. As I mentioned this was a very slow going area but I am happy with the results.

Area 2 and the Fifth Frame

Area 2 and the Fifth Frame

I then went on to the Fifth Frame which is located in the lower right.  This is done in a sideways herringbone. The two colors do not show real well because they are close in value. I had to work this from to top to bottom on each row using two needles.  Multiple needles and I have a hard time.  I just can not get the hang of parking threads. I managed, but again, it was slow going.

The final area is Area 2, a Horizontal Milanese. This is located at the lower right hand corner just below the Fifth Frame.  It is worked in three threads. A splendor silk, a threadworx overdye and a kreinik ribbon.  I rotated the canvas so I could lay the strands of the silk and overdye.  Keeping the ribbon flat was also a requirement.

The First Background Area

The First Background Area

I have decided to do the background next and save the leaves until last. I quickly discovered that I had not colored the areas enough. The background stitching is very light and the areas of white canvas will definitely show through. I got out my copic markers again and did some touch up.  My remaining problem is that some of the white threads of the background are right on the edge next to my stitching. I attempted to get some color on those threads without touching the stitching……not easy and I stopped before I made a big error. I am hoping that it will not be too obvious when I get the background done.  The background is a simple reverse skip tent over two threads done with a single strand of Bijoux.  It is easy to get established and good for listening to a recorded book. I do have to be careful and make sure that all the rows of diamonds line up from area to area. There are 8 areas of the background so I will be stitching on this for several days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 8:53 am

    Gorgeous! What a fun piece!
    Maybe you could add some stitches (an upright cross inside the diamonds?) and/or a light outline to cover the dandruff?

  2. Donna Lawrence permalink
    April 18, 2013 11:10 am

    This project is gorgeous! I know that you are having a lot of fun despite your stitching hand problems. You are doing exquiste work! The postings are such fun but the most important part is that you are having fun and taking care of yourself!

    This advice is self-serving…I really want you to last a very long time.

    Hope to see you at the April ANG meeting!

    Donna

  3. April 25, 2013 1:29 am

    Wonderful to see the progress shots. Your work is absolutely gorgeous. The color palette & geometric shapes you chose where beautiful together.

  4. May 21, 2013 9:36 am

    For the novice, the first thing you need to understand is what
    the term “Digital Single Lens Reflex” means. Sony Cybershot DSC S3000 reviews have made
    it a foremost choice for millions of mobile users.
    The sale for Samsung Galaxy S has reached 10 millionth mark, thus making it the most
    successful Android smartphone so far.

  5. May 30, 2013 4:51 am

    Hi fantastic website! Does running a blog such as this require a large
    amount of work? I’ve absolutely no understanding of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I just wanted to ask. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

