Skip to content

Leaf Collage Progress

March 9, 2013

Leaf Collage Area 9 and 10

With lots of baseball on TV I have made great progress on this fun and challenging project.

Area 9 and 10 were pretty straight forward. Area 9 is the upper left corner. It is done with Splender silk and Valdani floss.  The instructions recommended 5 strands and I now wish I had used 6.  You can see the canvas peaking through.  This pattern looks pretty easy but it took me a while to get in the flow and by the time I realized the coverage wasn’t the greatest I had too much done to even think of doing “frog work”

Area 10 is directly below Area 9. It is done with Soy Luster, Planet Earth silk and Gloriana silk.  The Soy Luster is an overdye as is the Gloriana silk.  The Gloriana is used in the small tent stitches that frame the squares and the color change just doesn’t show that much.

Leaf Collage Area 15Area 15 is a small bargello band directly under Area 10.  It ia done in a Treenway Montano silk ( a thread I have not used before), Gloriana silk, Splender silk and a combination of Kreinik braid and Valdani floss. The Treenway silk is an overdye.  The colors were not true to the ones Terry used, dye lots are not always the same.  There are multiple rows of the Treenway followed by one row of the Splender (blue) one row of the Gloriana (yellow) and a row of the blended Kreinik/Valdani. I am not really fond of the Valdani floss. It is rough, shreds, and the strands of floss are not all the same weight.

Here is the big picture of where I am to this point.

Leaf Collage 3-6

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2013 4:37 am

    it’s looking wonderful. It was interesting to hear your comments on the Valdini as I’ve seen other people rave about it but it’s so expensive I haven’t tried any yet. Where did you get the pattern for this piece?

    • stitchlady permalink*
      March 12, 2013 11:48 am

      This is still one of Terry Dryden’s teaching pieces. Our ANG guild had her last month for a class. I do not think this design is available for purchase yet. I was very disappointed when I could not attend the class. My DH had surgery. I was allowed to “ghost” the class. It is not for beginners mainly because there is a lot of presumed knowledge required. Thanks for the comment. Jan

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

  2. April 26, 2013 11:58 pm

    Wonderful items from you, man. I have understand your stuff
    previous to and you are simply extremely excellent.
    I actually like what you have obtained here, really
    like what you are saying and the way by which you assert it.
    You’re making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more
    from you. That is actually a wonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

