Skip to content

Leaf Collage Center Frame

March 6, 2013

Leaf Collage Center Frame

The center frame area is worked in three threads. A Threadworx green overdye, a Planet Earth soft Green and an Gumnuts Stars golden-yellow ( this is a six strand silk). I do like the finished look but this pattern was not as easy to stitch as I had anticipated.  I began with the Threadworx overdye and placed all those stitches around the frame.  There is not a repeat pattern for the color placement so I had to place every stitch very carefully. Next was supposed to be the soft green Planet Earth silk…it drove me crazy because the color is so close to some areas of the overdye that I kept thinking I had made a mistake. After stitching the top I gave up and went to the golden-yellow Gumnut silk.  The yellow provided a good contrast so that placement was easier to determine.  This left the soft green to be placed in all the remaining blanks. The dark line on the inside is a cross stitch over one with two strands of Valdani in a color called Blackened Teal.  The Valdani is a very thin thread and a little rough. I used two strands for the cross stitch.

Now on to the next area. I am waiting for my Evertite stretcher bars to arrive in the mail from Nordic Needle so I can stretch this canvas really tight.  The canvas size is 16″ X 18″ and I just can not get the canvas as tight as it needs to be on regular stretcher bars.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2013 10:25 pm

    This theory won the Ig Noble Prize for its partial solution by David Schmidt.

    Once again, there are many patters and designs of tiles available to choose from.
    Here are five steps to lead you through this process:.

  2. April 15, 2013 3:21 am

    Your method of describing everything in this post is in fact
    pleasant, all can without difficulty understand it, Thanks
    a lot.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      April 15, 2013 7:47 am

      Thanks Kayla, I try to give my followers a real feel for what each project requires. I am still stitching on the background…. Jan

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

  3. April 18, 2013 12:42 am

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come
    back someday. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice holiday weekend!

  4. October 6, 2013 7:27 pm

    Heeya i am for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I in finding It really helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I’m hoping to present one thing back and aid others
    such as you aided me.

  5. July 6, 2014 12:40 am

    I would not actually recognize how I ended upwards here, on the other hand considered this informative article ended up being beneficial. I do not understand whom you will be having said that surely you’ll some sort of well known writer in the event you are not previously. Regards!

  6. November 5, 2014 3:18 pm

    В нашем небольшом но надежном интернет-магазине вы найдете много интересных вещиц по хорошим ценам.
    http://www.hellomadam.org/

Leave a Reply

