Skip to content

Leaf Collage The Beginning

March 2, 2013

A new month and a new project. This post is also a milestone for my blog, it is my 400th post !!! Thanks to all of you who follow this and give me such good feedback.

Leaf Collage ThreadsMy new project is a Terry Dryden design entitled Leaf Collage. She taught this class in Tucson a week ago but I had to “ghost” it as DH still needs me around after his ankle replacement. Just look at all these wonderful threads. It was such fun just checking the supple list. There are a couple that I have never used.  Before I could begin stitching there was Copic marker coloring to be done. I have never used Copic markers and I was a little nervous. The instructions called for some practice. There are three colors of the markers and I assumed that I could place a color or combination of colors in the background areas. This was not explained in the instructions so I just started. This is my practice canvas. I used different combinations and different spacing.

Leaf Collage Marker Practice

I started on the design canvas being very careful to make sure I was marking the right areas.  The background in this design is not just one big area. Here is the canvas with all the background areas complete.

Leaf Collage Markers Complere

Now I could frame up and start stitching…Yeah! The first area was done with Gumnut Buds and Soy Luster. I have not stitched with either one.  Gumnut Buds is similar to a #8 pearl and required no laying. The Soy Luster is an overdyed that is thinner than a #8 pearl and I had to use two strands thus my favorite laying tool got a workout. I must admit that I love to lay threads. There is just something peaceful about getting all those threads side by side 🙂

Leaf Collage Area 12 FullLeaf Collage Area 12The colors are not true…what else is new. The small mosaic stitches are actually a soft lime green and is stitched with the Gumnut Buds. You can see the change in color where I used the Soy Luster overdyed. The leafs were transferred onto the canvas when I received it. This is certainly a new idea for me. I stitched most of the day and my back is barking at me so I will rest…….until tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2013 8:24 pm

    Congrats on #400 & this is quite an interesting one. Love how it’s starting. Melita

  2. March 2, 2013 8:42 pm

    This is really beautiful so far. I love all the colors and variety of flosses. Looking forward to seeing how this progresses.

  3. Julia permalink
    March 2, 2013 9:48 pm

    I love this piece I have mine hanging near and enjoying it daily… You will have a good time stitching this… Don’t you just love the colors and threads!!!!!

  4. Jennifer permalink
    March 4, 2013 8:55 pm

    Everything you do is amazing!!

  5. March 5, 2013 2:28 pm

    This project is one of my UFOs that I will finish this year. (We’re having a UFO challenge in my ANG chapter…) Isn’t just scrumptious? We had a fabulous two-day class with Terry.

Leave a Reply

