Skip to content

Green Ornament Done

February 17, 2013

Green Ornament Complete

Green Ornament Top CUIt is not very often, perhaps not ever, that you first see a project when it is complete.  This ornament is a small painted canvas that I bought several years ago. I framed it up and took it to Sacramento last month. I wanted something small to travel with. I also am pretty inexperienced with painted canvases that do not have some type of stitch guide. As you can see I was not very creative with my stitches. I chose instead to choose threads from my stash and make this a simple project to stitch on the go.  I worked on the main green area in Sacramento. After all how hard is it to do tent and reverse tent while traveling.  I used some rayon thread, silk and several colors of Krienik metallic. I call this the Green Ornament because it has a companion canvas that is similar but the main part of the ornament is red.

Red Ornament CanvasI don’t plan on doing the Red Ornament anytime soon. I am however keeping it out in sight in my studio as I try to figure out something other than tent stitch for the main part of the design.

Today I went back to my Bargello Sock Club and began on Sock #6.  More on that in a day or two.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2013 7:04 pm

    I love the shading – very pretty. Melita

  2. Donna Lawrence permalink
    February 18, 2013 10:05 am

    Hi Jan! I like your green ornament and what you did with it! Tent stitch protrays the design’s shapes very well. What you did with the top is great!

    Donna L.

Leave a Reply

