Skip to content

Amazing Color 9-29

September 30, 2012

Where did September go ???  As you can see I have been making progress with Amazing Color. Computer challenges and having fun visiting local historical museums have kept me from posting sooner.

I received a very nice e-mail from Kathy Rees, Amazing Color’s designer, she gave me permission to reproduce and post on this blog the project photo.  Now you can get a full view of the whole project.  She indicated that when she designed this piece she did the full border and then let the middle fill in……WOW.

So far none of the blocks have been a duplicate.  If this holds true that is 144 individual designs.  My brain gets tired just thinking of that.  I have included a photo of my progress.  I took my piece off the floor frame and turned it right-side up so you could see my piece in the same presentation as the project photo.  I will stitch it upside-down for ease until halfway and then turn it around.  I really don’t like stitching upside down but the arm reach on this makes for tired arms. I am finding that each block averages 1 hour of stitching.  Some go quick but then there are some with a lot of tiny stitches that takes longer.

Kathy told me that she has never seen it stitched in the floss, she just did the substitution for a less expensive option.  She said I will probably run out of my Weeks Dye threads as they are only 5 yards to a skein.  I am already low on some.  I am wondering if the floss will be cheaper than the silk if I have to purchase a second skein of all the overdyed floss….

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2012 5:36 pm

    I stitched Kathy’s “Potluck” (muted) earlier this year and enjoyed it sooo much. I think I need to do this one now – incredible!

  2. October 1, 2012 9:45 am

    This is much prettier than I thought it would be! I really like how crisp it looks. I wonder if that is because you are using floss & lay every stitch so beautifully?!

  3. Rinda permalink
    October 1, 2012 2:34 pm

    Jan, I have this in my stash, but not kitted yet, so will be interested to learn from your choices. I thought it was gorgeous from the picture, but your photo of what you have stitched is even better. Now I want to drop everything else and start on this.

  4. Kathy Rees permalink
    October 1, 2012 8:17 pm

    The floss version is less expensive even using two skeins of the Weeks Dye Works! This design was the result of being inspired by the introduction of the Threadworx overdyed Vineyard silks and then falling incredibly in love with the feeling of stitching a small design (Color Delights – Rainbow) with just 12 colors. I then had to come up with Amazing Color to use more of the threads (all 12 of the Rainbow threads are in AC). I continue to come up with stuff to stitch with these threads and am happy Threadworx is coming up with more new colors…

  5. Kathy Rees permalink
    October 1, 2012 8:18 pm

    Forgot to say I think the floss version is looking good. I do also enjoy using regular floss! Potluck was my first design and is one of several of mine that are completely stitched with floss!

  6. Winogene permalink
    October 3, 2012 9:02 am

    I think I like this pattern also. It is so different from what you usually do, as far as colors are concerned. It is a real beauty !!!!!

  7. Dot permalink
    October 9, 2012 2:10 pm

    Your stitching is so smooth–looks absolutely gorgeous! Love the colors, love the sheen. Will definitely need to add this one to the stash. Can’t wait to see your finished version.

  8. Norma permalink
    November 27, 2012 2:41 pm

    It is just an amazing piece and you are doing such a great job. Each square is like a little jewel!

Leave a Reply

